Home > cardmaking, stamping > Mollie’s Birthday Card

Mollie’s Birthday Card

May 23, 2016

My niece Mollie is having a birthday is later this week so I created a card for her. This is how the card will look when she pulls it from the envelope:

20160523 Mollie's Birthday Card Closed

And this is what it will look like when she pulls the green card at the notch on the bottom of the card:

20160523 Mollie's Birthday Card Open

I used the following products to create this card: Craftwork Cards Celebrations Stamps with Candle Cards, Jump Rope pattern (item #PG13012) from the Echo Park Paper Co. Playground collection and from Close To My Heart: Canary Exclusive Inks™ Stamp Pad (Z2643), Sponge Daubers (Z726) or Value Pack of 12 (Z1938), Memento™ Tuxedo Black Ink Pad (Z899), My Acrylix™ Tiny Typewriter Alphabet Stamp Set (D1222) – retired. I used a 2″ scallop circle punch to create a notch.

Here are close-ups of the flame and pull tab:

20160523 Mollie's Birthday Card - flame

20160523 Mollie's Birthday Card - pull out

There were four pieces to make the card that came in the Craftworks Card kit: the fold-over base, the pull tab (which I covered with the green dot from Echo Park and stamped), the candle (which I inked and stamped) and the “H” mechanism which makes the candle pop out when the green card is pulled. The instructions mention adding a strip of plastic (I used a poly bag that some Hunkydory Adorable Scorable came in) to make the sliding mechanism. I used a glass mat, kraft knife and ruler to cut the plastic.

The first time I assembled the card my plastic “sleeve” was not loose enough (even though it looked like it was loose enough) and I ended up ripping the “H’ mechanism. Fortunately I had not used adhesive to completely close the card yet, so I pulled up the “H” mechanism and used the “remains” left from popping out the “H” as a template and created a new “H”. I then slit the “sleeve” to fit it over the new “H” and added a small piece of plastic to make the “sleeve” longer and close the circle. If it would be helpful to you if I created a photo tutorial for how I assembled the card, please complete the “Contact Me” form to the right to let me know and I will try to post one in a few days.

A note about the stamps that came in the kit. They stamped beautifully. As a CTMH Independent Consultant I am often disappointed with the impressions created by other brands of clear stamps. This Craftwork Cards stamp set was an exception. I was extremely pleased with these stamps.

As I have mentioned before, I am not an affiliate for shopping sites, but I am a Close To My Heart Independent Consultant. The links above to other companies/brands are for your convenience only. I know how disappointing it can be to see a product that would be perfect for a project you have in mind and you cannot easily track it down (I once spent about three hours trying to help a friend find an embellishment she fell in love with). If you are located in the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam or on U.S. military bases and are interested in purchasing Close To My Heart products you may go to my CTMH Online Business Address where, if you make a purchase, I will receive a commission.

I love to read what people think of my crafty creations. If you have a moment, please leave a comment. Thank you for visiting today.

Categories: cardmaking, stamping Tags:
  1. May 24, 2016 at 5:08 pm

    Clever, I really like this x

  2. May 26, 2016 at 2:30 pm

    Thank you! I’m happy you like it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
