Home > cardmaking > Father’s Day Card Idea

Father’s Day Card Idea

June 7, 2016

If you read previous posts on my blog you may have seen the Birthday Card I created in May for my niece Mollie. This card is inspired by that card which was created from a kit i purchased: Craftwork Cards Celebrations Stamps with Candle Cards. After putting that in-progress card away in the evening (frustrated I might add) and then having an idea to “make it work” in the morning (I must craft in my sleep sometimes) to fix the problems I had assembling it, I fell in love with that card. I know some of you know what I am talking about – I have seen posts where people shared something they created for someone and love it so much that they could not part with it. I have been at craft shows where people mentioned purchasing cards to give away and they love them so much they keep them.

After making that card I tried to think of ideas for what else could “pop out” of the top of the card. Here is a Father’s Day idea I came up with; this is the card as it is pulled from the envelope:

2016007-Jim's-Father's-Day-card-closed

And here is what the card looks like when the “tab” is pulled:

2016007-Jim's-Father's-Day-card-open

I created a Cricut® Design Space file using the basic shapes to cut the card base including the notch at the bottom of the card. I then used Biker (#M3FF90) and Biker (#M3EAF5) from Dude! to create the “pop up” and decorate the front of the card. I found a checkered flag image online that I printed. I die cut the flag and biker from cardstock using Tattered Lace Severn Dovetails. I stamped “Pull” and “Happy Father’s Day” in Memento™ Tuxedo Black Ink Pad (Z899) using My Acrylix™ Tiny Typewriter Alphabet Stamp Set (D1222) – retired and My Acrylix™ August 2015 SOTM: Framed Stamp Set (S1508) – retired.

I think this is a perfect card for someone who likes to ride or watch motocross.

As a reminder, I am not an affiliate for shopping sites, but I am a Close To My Heart Independent Consultant. The links above to other companies/brands are for your convenience only. I know how disappointing it can be to see a product that would be perfect for a project you have in mind and you cannot find where you can purchase it. If you are located in the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam or on U.S. military bases and are interested in purchasing Close To My Heart products you may go to my CTMH Online Business Address where, if you make a purchase, I will receive a commission.

What ideas do you have for something to “pop out” of a card similar to this? I am always looking for ideas. I also love to read what people think of my crafty creations. If you have a moment, please leave a comment. Thank you for visiting today.

Categories: cardmaking Tags: , ,
  1. June 8, 2016 at 6:47 am

    I really like how simple this looks at first, then the fun bit x

  2. June 8, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
