Home > cardmaking, die cutting > Butterfly Cards from Tattered Lace Dies

Butterfly Cards from Tattered Lace Dies

June 20, 2016

In April I purchased the Baby Blue Accessories Collection (item 141921) when it was offered at a reduced price. If you like the cards I created from this kit, the Baby Blue 17 Piece Accessories Collection with FREE Tattered Lace Baby Blue (item 146584) is a better value right now. The following items were included in the collection I purchased: Rainbow Cardstock, Card Blanks, Envelopes, Foam Pads, three Butterflies dies, With Love and Best Wishes Die and a third die set not listed in the product description (I received a teddy bear holding a heart and a pacifier). Another item that was not listed in the description were four sheets with instructions for creating cards. Here are the cards from the instruction sheets. I followed the directions fairly close when creating the cards.

Baby Blue Accessories Collection 01

I did add my own green and yellow cardstock to create the “Best Wishes” sentiment on the card above left. It was the last card I created and when I looked at the scraps of rainbow card I had left I did not think I could find large enough piece where the color was fairly solid so the words would stand out. The words on the card above right are the letters that remained after creating the card below right.

Baby Blue Accessories Collection 02

Except for the shape (square cards need additional postage in the USA), I really liked the card bases in this kit. I needed to run my bone folder along the fold to make it more crisp, but the cardstock is so smooth and silky. There was a more than adequate supply of thin Foam Pads in the kit; I still have about 80% of the Foam Pads remaining. I called them thin because they are thinner than most of the foam pads and tape I find in big box stores. If you are familiar with Thin 3-D Foam Tape (Z2060) from Close To My Heart, the thickness is about the same.

A note about the Baby Blue – I have it, but did not purchase it as part of one of the collections it is available in now. I find that I am able to cut simpler dies in it easily, but more intricate dies, like the butterflies in this kit, need to be run through the machine more than one time and/or need to be shimmed. If you have more questions about the Baby Blue, Tattered Lace has a Baby Blue Die Cutting Machine page where you will find the Instruction Manual and a Step-by-Step Guide (both are PDF files), Create and Craft posted a Baby Blue Machine FAQ Guide and Ken Hess wrote a review on his blog and posted a video review.

I hate to keep repeating myself, but I do not want anyone to feel mislead. I am not an affiliate for any shopping site, but I am a Close to My Heart Independent Consultant. If you are located in the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam or on U.S. military bases and are interested in purchasing Close To My Heart products you may go to my CTMH Online Business Address where, if you make a purchase, I will receive a commission.

Thank you for visiting today. Even though I did not design the cards I created, I hope that you like how they turned out.

Categories: cardmaking, die cutting
