Home > cardmaking, Cricut, die cutting, stamping > Gatefold Birthday Card

Gatefold Birthday Card

July 4, 2016

A former neighbor and librarian I had in elementary school, who joined the staff of our district when my mother was in middle school, is celebrating her 91st birthday this week so I created a card for her. This is what the card will look like when she pulls it from the envelope.

Lapp 2016 Florence Birthday Card - closed - watermark

This gatefold card was created using Anna Griffin’s Amelie Brocade Card Embossing Folder from the 12” Lace Gatefold Embossing Folders collection. There is a coordinating Anna’s Embossing Companion Lace Gatefold Cards Cut File in Cricut® Design Space. I first cut my cardstock from the Bazzill Basics 180-piece “Olivia” Premium Cardstock Kit (purchased at HSN; when it comes back it sells out quickly) then I ran it through the Cuttlebug. The belly band is a 1″ strip of printed cardstock from The Dear Jane Stack (DCWV). The green center “button” is from the Anna Griffin Embossing Folder and the peach cardstock is from the “Olivia” collection and cut with Torn Edge Circle Die by Tattered Lace. The button covers where the belly band is joined and helps to hide the sentiment inside the card until the band is remove. The card inside looks like this:

Lapp 2016 Florence Birthday Card - open - watermarked

I used the same printed and peach cardstock inside the card. The printed cardstock was cut using my paper trimmer and the peach cardstock was cut using Spellbinders Nestabilities Large Labels (S4-168) and stamped with Black Memento™ Ink Pad (CTMH item #Z899) using a stamp from the Anna Griffin® Birthday Clear Stamp Set. I used Thin 3D Foam Tape (CTMH item #Z2060) to add the sentiment.

Lapp 2016 Florence Birthday Card - watermarked

While I am not an affiliate for any shopping sites, I am a Close To My Heart Independent Consultant. The links above to other companies/brands are for your convenience so you do not have to search and search to find something you might like. If you are located in the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam or on U.S. military bases and are interested in purchasing Close To My Heart products I used you may go to my CTMH Online Business Address where, if you make a purchase, I will receive a commission.

I hope you and Florence, the recipient, find beauty in the card I created. Thank you for stopping by my blog today.

 

